SpaceX’s Next Starlink Satellite Mission Pegged for Saturday, May 15

by

TRENDING NOW

SpaceX announced on Friday afternoon it is targeting its next Starlink satellite launch for Saturday, May 15.

The Falcon 9 launch from Launch Complex 39A (LC-39A) at Kennedy Space Center in Florida is pegged for 3:54pm PDT/6:54pm EDT, and the daytime launch looks to put on a show for fans of the launches.

SpaceX says the “team is keeping an eye on recovery weather conditions,” referring to its autonomous droneship Of Course I Still Love You in the Atlantic Ocean, where Falcon 9 core B1058 is expected to land on.

This will be the eight flight and landing attempt for this Falcon 9 booster, which previously launched the NASA Demo-2 crewed mission (sending NASA astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley to the International Space Station), ANASIS-II, CRS-21, Transporter-1 and other Starlink missions. Its most recent flight was on April 7, 2021, the Starlink 23 mission.

SpaceX says “one half of Falcon 9’s fairing previously supported the SXM-7 mission, and the other previously supported the NROL-108 mission.”

This launch won’t just have Starlink satellites though. There will be a Capella Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) satellite, and Tyvak-0130 joining 52 Starlink satellites.

The backup launch date is set for Sunday, May 16 at 6:33 p.m. EDT, or 22:33 UTC.

SpaceX will again share a live webcast roughly 15 minutes before liftoff.

Previous

12 New Tesla Superchargers Coming to Ripon, California

Tesla Model S Plaid Captured on Laguna Seca Raceway with Adjustable Rear Wing [VIDEO]

Next